Committees of the Faculty

The Faculty's work is delivered by our key committees

There are two principle strands to these work-streams: professional standards and training & assessment.

FPM Professional Standards Committee

The FPM Professional Standards Committee (FPMPSC) is responsible for Pain Medicine matters relating to the standards, good practice documentation, revalidation and events, policies relating to patient safety, competencies, clinical audit and doctors in difficulty.

Committee Members

  • Dr Ganesan Baranidharan (Chair; Vice Dean)
  • Dr Manohar Sharma (Deputy Chair; Educational Meeting Advisor)
  • Dr Lorraine de Gray (Ex-officio: Dean)
  • Dr Matthew Brown
  • Dr Suzanne Carty
  • Dr Sailesh Mishra
  • Dr Devjit Srivastava (Deputy Educational Meeting Advisor)
  • Dr Adam Samways (Co-optee: Educational Meeting Advisor - Trainee representative) 
  • Dr Lucy Southee (Co-optee: Lay Committee representative)
  • Dr Emma Baird (Co-optee: Acute Pain Representative)
  • Dr Cathy Price (Corresponding member)
  • Dr Rob Searle (Corresponding member)


FPM Training & Assessment Committee

The FPM Training & Assessment Committee (FPMTAC) is responsible for Pain Medicine matters relating to the curriculum, assessment tools, the logbook, e-learning, examinations, specialty area training, recruitment and selection, the EWTD and quality assurance.

Committee Members

  • Dr Victor Mendis (Chair)
  • Dr Peter Cole (Deputy Chair)
  • Dr Lorraine de Gray (Ex-officio: Dean)
  • Dr Ganesan Baranidharan (Ex-officio: Vice Dean)
  • Dr Sheila Black
  • Dr Ashish Gulve
  • Dr Douglas Natusch
  • Dr Paul Rolfe
  • Dr HooKee Tsang (RAPM Chair)
  • Dr Helen Laycock
  • Dr Sonia Pierce
  • Dr Allistair Dodds 
  • Dr Richard Berwick (Co-optee: Trainee Representative)
  • Dr Helen Makins (Co-optee: EPM UK Representative)
  • Dr Nancy Cox (Co-optee: e-PAIN Representative)
  • Dr Narasimha Varanasi (Co-optee: SAS Representative)
  • Dr Nofil Mulla (Corresponding member: Examinations Tutorial Advisor)
  • Dr Emma Baird (Corresponding member: Acute Pain Representative) 


Pain Consortium 

The Faculty meets quarterly with the leads of the British Pain Society and the Chronic Pain Policy Coalition, and the Clinical Lead for Pain of the Royal College of General Practitioners as a Consortium.  This group ensures harmonious working across the bodies and, where appropriate, responds collectively to issues of joint interest.

Logo of the Pain Consortium

Want to join the Faculty and get involved?
Find out about our routes of entry to membership.